A completely new opening pair will be seen in the ODI series against New Zealand

After a clean sweep in the T20I series, Team India has now been announced for the ODI and Test series. Opener Rohit Sharma, who got injured in the last match of the series, has been out of both ODI and Test series. Prithvi Shaw has got an opportunity in the Test series and Mayank Agarwal in ODIs.

Pacers Ishant Sharma and Navdeep Saini have also got a place in the 16-member squad announced by the selectors. However, Ishant, who is currently recovering from an ankle injury, will have to pass a fitness test.

# Mayank replacing Rohit

Earlier, Rohit had retired in the last T20I of the five-match series on Sunday, February 2. Earlier, the physio came on the field and treated Rohit, who scored 60 runs on 41 balls. But then after three balls of the 17th over, he could not play further. Later on Monday, his MRI was scanned in Hamilton.

After this, the BCCI issued a statement saying,

Rohit Sharma has been ruled out of the ODI and Test series against New Zealand. Mayank Agarwal has been selected in his place in the ODI team.

Punjab young batsman Shubman Gill will replace Rohit in the Test series. On Monday evening, BCCI President Sourav Ganguly confirmed this. While playing for India A on the tour of New Zealand, Shubman Gill had a really good batting. He played 83 and 204 not out innings in the unofficial test. here Mayank Agarwal in ODIs Will opens in place of Rohit.

# Williamson out

Pesar Jaspreet Bumrah, who was out for a long time due to injury, has also returned to the Test team. New Zealand also said on Tuesday that their captain Kane Williamson will not play the first two ODIs of the series. Williamson has been replaced by Mark Chapman, who was ruled out due to a shoulder injury.

The Indian team will end the New Zealand tour with two Tests. The first Test will be played in Wellington from 21 February. While the second test will be held in Christchurch from 29 February. Team India will play a three-day practice match before the Test series.

India’s test team is as follows: Virat Kohli (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Riddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Jaspreet Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Ishant Sharma (must clear fitness test)


Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *