Delhi Election: The seat where three Jarnail Singh, three Rajiv stood

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) once again won a big victory in the Delhi Assembly elections. AAP captured 62 seats out of 70. Eight seats went to BJP’s account. Now the matter of an assembly seat where many people with the same name fought the election. That seat is Tilak Nagar. Three Jarnail Singh, two Rajiv Babbar and one Rajiv Arora stood here. Well, the victory was won by Jarnail Singh of AAP.

A little more detail

Tilak Nagar assembly seat falls in the West Delhi Lok Sabha constituency. In the election held on February 8, there were 9 options including NOTA on this seat. AAP fielded sitting MLA Jarnail Singh of Tilak Nagar, Congress Raminder Singh, BJP Rajeev Babbar and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) Sanjay Kumar. Jarnail Singh of AAP won by 28029 votes. BJP’s Rajiv Babbar stood second.

Tilak Nagar Seat
Results of elections held in Tilak Nagar. Screenshot of the Election Commission website.

Now talk about candidates with similar names

On this seat, your own party (People’s) also fielded any Jarnail Singh. Three independent candidates stood. One of these was named Jarnail Singh. One was Rajiv Babbar and one was Rajiv Arora. All were bad in the matter of votes. No one got more than 600 votes. In 2015 also, two Jarnail Singh and two Rajiv Babbar stood from this seat.

Now a little information about Tilak Nagar

This seat was held by the BJP three times and the Congress once, from 1998 to 2008 assembly elections. Jarnail Singh of AAP won in 2013, 2015 and now 2020. BJP’s Rajiv Babbar was second on all three occasions.


Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *