Virat Kohli makes world record without playing, team India flags

Virat Kohli. Play or not play remains in discussion. Kohli did not play in the last match of the T20I series against New Zealand. Later a photo of him with Kiwi captain Ken Williamson went viral. Meanwhile, India defeated New Zealand 5–0 in the T20I series. In this series, New Zealand consistently showed on the backfoot and Team India won the matches one after the other.

With the victory of seven runs in the last match of the series, Team India and Kohli took all the records in their names. New Zealand, chasing a target of 164, could manage 159 after losing nine wickets in 20 overs. With this victory, India also improved its record of winning consecutive T20I matches. Including this match, India has won eight T20I matches in a row.

# Record only record

From 2012 to 2019, India had won seven consecutive matches three times. Afghanistan holds the world record for winning the most consecutive T20I matches. From March 2016 to February 2018, he has won 12 and 11 matches consecutively.

Team India captain Kohli now also became the captain to win the most bilateral T20I series after 15 T20I series. Kohli has won bilateral series 10 times. South African captain Faf du Plessy, present at number two, has won nine bilateral series. Not only this, but Kohli’s team also became the first team to win the five-match series 5–0.

Talking about the clean sweep, this is India’s third T20I clean sweep away from home. Earlier, he had a 3–0 win against Australia in 2016 and 2019 against the West Indies. For the hosts, this entire series was worth forgetting. It was New Zealand’s 23rd defeat in 59 matches played at home. Now New Zealand has come on par with Sri Lanka in terms of losing the most matches in their home country.


Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *